© Photographed November 5, 2016
Greenwood, Clark County, Wisconsin
The Branstitier is located on northbound South Main Street, north of its intersection with Depot Street, at 600 South Main Street, Greenwood, Wisconsin 544437.
Visitors to the museum will take a step back in time as they walk along wooden sidewalks passing 17 store fronts of early 1900 Greenwood businesses, along with a church entrance. On their stroll through memory lane, visitors will see a collection of over 400 items which include both tools and equipment used in the early dairying and lumbering days. Along one wall over 170 photographs of early Greenwood depict people, places, and events.Visitors will enjoy an antique miniature car collection consisting of 38 cars and a coin collection with coins dating back to 1934. Another specialty includes a collection of 238 toy tractors from 11 different manufacturers. A stamp collection is also available for viewing.
The dream of a local businessman, this building was built in 1980 to house his many collections. Don Branstiter later expanded on his project by adding two additions to the building, with the intention of enjoying it as a retirement project. Branstiter passed away suddenly in 1993. His family donated the museum and its contents to the City of Greenwood in 1995.
The foregoing content used with permission of Clark County History Buffs.The museum is open the Sunday of Dairy Days in June (usually second weekend) after the parade until 5 PM, then the first SUNDAY in July, August and September.For information or reservations, contact Dick Adler, 715-267-6459 or Greenwood's City Clerk Loni Klinke, 715-267-6205.
The museum is located in Greenwood, Wisconsin.