Propeller and Shaft

© Photographed September 1, 2012
Erected by Door County Maritime Museum
& Lighthouse Preservation Society, Inc.
Sturgeon Bay, Door County, Wisconsin
44° 54.28′ N, 87° 24.298′ W

PROPELLER AND SHAFT
This stern frame cast iron propeller and steel shaft is believed to be from the lumber steamer Mueller which was built as Edwin S. Tice in 1887 at the Burger yards in Manitowoc, Wisconsin. She measured 159.9 x 3.21 x 12.5; 728 gross tons. The vessel had many owners. In 1901, she was sold to William Mueller & Company of Chicago at which time she was rechristened Mueller. Until the time she was laid up at Sturgeon Bay in 1932, she towed barges in the pulpwood trade on the Great Lakes under four additional owners. In 1933, she was dismantled in the "boneyard." The hull was burned and scuttled about four miles north of the city of Sturgeon Bay in 1935.
For more information on
Door County's rich history -- visit
the Door County Maritime Museum
in Sturgeon Bay, Gills Rock,
and Cana Island.

The marker is located at Olde Stone Quarry County Park, Harbor of Refuge and Boat Launch on southbound Bay Shore Drive / County Road B, about a half-mile north of its intersection with Bay Shore Heights Drive, Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin 54235.

Door County Maritime Museum 

See also, Marker 417: Leathem and Smith Quarry, also at this location.





No comments:

Post a Comment